Nathaniel Hawthorne

Nathaniel Hawthorne (/ˈhɔːˌθɔːrn/; born Nathaniel Hathorne; July 4, 1804 – May 19, 1864) was an American novelist, dark romantic, and short story writer.

He was born in 1804 in Salem, Massachusetts, to Nathaniel Hathorne and the former Elizabeth Clarke Manning. His ancestors include John Hathorne, the only judge involved in the Salem witch trials who never repented of his actions. Nathaniel later added a “w” to make his name “Hawthorne” in order to hide this relation. He entered Bowdoin College in 1821, was elected to Phi Beta Kappa in 1824,[1] and graduated in 1825. Hawthorne published his first work, a novel titled Fanshawe, in 1828; he later tried to suppress it, feeling it was not equal to the standard of his later work. He published several short stories in periodicals, which he collected in 1837 as Twice-Told Tales. The next year, he became engaged to Sophia Peabody. He worked at the Boston Custom House and joined Brook Farm, a transcendentalist community, before marrying Peabody in 1842. The couple moved to The Old Manse in Concord, Massachusetts, later moving to Salem, the Berkshires, then to The Wayside in Concord. The Scarlet Letter was published in 1850, followed by a succession of other novels. A political appointment as consul took Hawthorne and family to Europe before their return to Concord in 1860. Hawthorne died on May 19, 1864, and was survived by his wife and their three children.

Much of Hawthorne’s writing centers on New England, many works featuring moral allegories with a Puritan inspiration. His fiction works are considered part of the Romantic movement and, more specifically, dark romanticism. His themes often center on the inherent evil and sin of humanity, and his works often have moral messages and deep psychological complexity. His published works include novels, short stories, and a biography of his college friend Franklin Pierce, the 14th President of the United States.

Nathaniel Hawthorne – Buds and Bird-Voices

What a lovely homage to Spring! Excerpted from…

Read More »

Nathaniel Hawthorne – My Visit to Niagara

My Visit to Niagara (1876) is a delightful…

Read More »

Nathaniel Hawthorne – The Blithedale Romance

The Blithedale Romance (1852) is Nathaniel Hawthorne’s third…

Read More »

Nathaniel Hawthorne – The House of Seven Gables

Fraudulent dealings, accusations of witchcraft and sudden death.…

Read More »

Nathaniel Hawthorne – The Marble Faun

The Marble Faun: Or, The Romance of Monte…

Read More »

Nathaniel Hawthorne – The Scarlet Letter

The short list of great American novels is…

Read More »

Nathaniel Hawthorne – An Old Woman’s Tale

An Old Woman’s Tale (1830) was one of…

Read More »

Nathaniel Hawthorne – A Rill from the Town-Pump

SCENE, the corner of two principal streets, [Essex…

Read More »

Nathaniel Hawthorne – Benjamin Franklin

Born 1706. Died 1790. In the year 1716,…

Read More »

Nathaniel Hawthorne – Chippings with a Chisel

Passing a summer several years since at Edgartown,…

Read More »